Company Info

  Home > Books > LCMM Publications >

The Inland Sea: Reflections
The Inland Sea: Reflections

Our Price: $17.95

Product Code: 1538


The Inland Sea: Reflections – new Audio Book of Lake Poetry by Daniel Lusk published by Lake Champlain Maritime Museum

The latest collaboration between Vermont poet Daniel Lusk and the Lake Champlain Maritime Museum has produced the audio book Inland Sea: Reflections. “The Inland Sea,” an old name for the broad lake east of the Champlain Islands, evokes the connection the poet hopes to make between what lies beneath the waters, and our inner selves. In the audio book, Lusk reads 19 recent poems inspired by more than two years of research, interviews with divers, exploring the discoveries of archaeologists, marine biologists, geologists, historians and folklorists – and his own experiences on the lake in all weather.

“Science is not the antithesis of wonder,” muses Lusk, “Indeed, wonder is often what prompts scientific inquiry.” His own fascination with Lake Champlain’s titanic eons of geological evolution, and millennia of natural and human history launched Lusk’s Lake Champlain research and writing project, funded by grants from the Vermont Arts Endowment and UVM. The resulting 37 poems were published by Lake Champlain Maritime Museum in 2011 in the volume Lake Studies: Meditations on Lake Champlain.

A naturalist and singer as well as writer, Lusk now shares these poems about the lake and its creatures in a personal and intimate recording, inviting us to welcome this melding of knowledge, mystery and lore into our own experience and inner lives. A Senior Lecturer in English Emeritus of the University of Vermont, Lusk is available for poetry readings, workshops, and master classes in poetry writing and teaching. Lusk can be reached at .

Inland Sea: Reflections
1 Introduction (:35)
2 A Note to the Listener (1:19)
3 Prelude (:49)
4 Story (1:14)
5 Drowned Lands (1:30)
6 People (1:30)
7 Nocturne (1:30)
8 Nighthawks (1:08)
9 Vessel (3:15)
10 Lake Apparition (2:56)
11 Hither (1:35)
12 Au Clair de la Lune (3:13)
13 Roa, Rabbit (3:25)
14 Backroom of the Alchemist (1:09)
15 Etude (1:34)
16 Souls by Water (3:01)
17 Lepistoste Osseux (0:00)
18 Diaptomus among the Daphnia (2:33)
19 Salon Noir (:58)
20 Seeing the Bottom Off Thompson’s Point (:33)
21 Sunset on Malletts Bay (1:20)

Total Playing Time: 35 minutes

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »